Day 7: A Novel Is Born

Hello again. It’s been less than a week and I’m posting again. What it this madness?

Alright. So, finally, seven days in, I’ve finished my plan for my series . . . Except I really actually haven’t. Sure, I still need to finish the plan for book number five, but that’s set years after the other four, so won’t need to be so tightly connected with the other four.

Anyway, it’s day seven and now I’m finally ready to shut up and actually write. I guess that means a novel isn’t really born. I haven’t even written a word into the first draft. So at best, I would say that my novel at the stage of conception . . . What the heck am I talking about?

So, now that I have a plan/rough-ish outline, I should be able to actually finish it. Should. If I don’t . . . Well, I don’t know. I can’t imagine that will happen, because now I know what’s happening. Now I know virtually everything important (and some not important) that happens (except for how to start this thing, which is the part that I really should have planned first, seeing as how that’s the part I always have trouble with).

I guess now I can participate in Camp NaNoWriMo without banging my head on my laptop with the knowledge that I would never be able to salvage the monstrosity that I wrote. And even though I said I wasn’t aiming to write 50000 words by the end of it, I still set my personal goal to 75000 words, because that’s how many words I estimate it would take me to finish book number one (which I’ve named Syndicate, and named the series Vital Strike. You know. Because all of you were just dying to know).

To conclude, when I hit the “Publish Post” button on this blog post, the first thing I’m going to do is go into my word document and stare at the blank page while I try to figure out just how to get this train rolling. I’m going to attempt to write 75000 words for the novel, even though I said I wasn’t even aiming for 50000 words (because that totally makes sense). And I’m . . . well, I guess that’s it. I’m going to go attempt to finally conquer this damn novel and laugh maniacally when it likely drives me further into insanity and makes me tear this laptop to pieces with my teeth and never think about writing again.

Don’t expect an update. See you all when I’m done with this thing.

Laurence out.

2 responses to “Day 7: A Novel Is Born

  1. Hey, I noticed you and I both read stuff from SuperheroNation, and we both have WordPress blogs. Though I’d say hi : )

    • Sorry. I got an email that you commented, but completely forgot about it. (You may have noticed this blog is pretty inactive). Anyway, hi there fellow superhero writer. 🙂

Leave a Reply

